Page 1 of 1

MacOS – Dropbox – How to remove "Move to Dropbox" in Finder

macOS – Dropbox – How to remove "Move to Dropbox" in Finder

Welcome to the Tweaking4All community forums!
When participating, please keep the Forum Rules in mind!

Topics for particular software or systems: Start your topic link with the name of the application or system.
Examples: "MacOS X - Your question", "MS Word - Your Tip or Trick".

Please note that switching to another language when reading a post will not work!
Posts will not have a translated counterpart.




RSS Feed

Home Forums Software MacOS X Software macOS – Dropbox – How to remove "Move to Dropbox" in Finder

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  hans 3 weeks, 2 days ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • 11478

    hans
    Keymaster

    Dropbox is awesome, in my opinion anyway.

    There are only two things that bother me;

    1) Aliases/Symbolic links are followed and completely synced …

    Not bad on it’s own, unless you’re a developer and have a shortcut to “Applications” for making DMG files. The entire freakin’ Applications directory gets synced as well and guess what: your Dropbox account will be full in no time … and we didn’t ask for this!
    Still have to find a fix for that one …

    2) The “Move to Dropbox” option in Finder (right click a file) …

    I NEVER use this option and instead frequently click it by accident instead of a “Move to Trash”.
    This one can be removed easily though.

    – Open a Terminal Window
    – Type:

    /Applications/Dropbox.app/Contents/MacOS/Dropbox --move-to-dropbox=False

    Dropbox will now remove the option from the Finder contextual menu … awesome! 

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)



You must be logged in to reply to this topic.